skip navigation

2019 UWS West All-Conference Awards

08/06/2019, 5:30pm EDT

Beall the real deal for LA; Calgary nets two top conference honors

METUCHEN, NJ - In the fourth edition of the 2019 United Women's Soccer (UWS) post-season awards, the national pro-am league highlights the West Conference. The level of competition in the UWS West has always been of the highest order but this past season surpassed even the loftiest of expectations. From start to finish, the five teams put on displays of skill, dominance and fortitude. After all was said and done, Calgary Foothills Women's FC emerged with their second consecutive conference crown via a victory in their regular season finale. In due course, the two-time West champions hosted the four-team UWS Championship but their rivals LA Galaxy OC emerged victorious over Calgary in the National Final with help from an up-and-coming defensive standout.

West Offensive Player of the Year: F Alex Lamontagne (Calgary Foothills WFC)

Alex Lamontagne returned to Calgary in mid-season after a stint playing professionally in France for FC Fleury 91 in the Division 1 Féminine and promptly declared her intentions to the conference. The Canadian international was named to the UWS honor roll after Foothills WFC notched a pair of vital home wins over the Santa Clarita Blue Heat and LA Galaxy OC in Week VI action. From there, the former Syracuse University star made two more appearances on the Team Of The Week that included top offensive honors in Week IX after tallying a hat trick in Calgary's home finale win that clinched the UWS West title. Lamontagne (six goals) scored a stunner in the 2-0 victory over Lancaster in the National Semifinal. She drove forward off the left flank, dribbled to the top of the box and fired a laser inside the far post for the insurance goal.

West Defensive Player of the Year: GK Hillary Beall (LA Galaxy OC)

Hillary Beall was another UWS West star who sent an early statement to the rest of the conference. The United States U-20 international and University of Michigan goalkeeper was named to UWS Team of the Week after her blank sheet in the team's season-opening win over the Santa Clarita Blue Heat. Beall steadily built up her game to an exemplary level through the course of the regular season while allowing only three goals. Her hard work culminated in a 1-0 shutout win (fifth of 2019) over Calgary Foothills WFC in the UWS Championship. While the LA offense did bust out on a couple of occasions this year, it was Beall who held down the defense with timely saves in several matches to preserve points. The No. 1-ranked keeper nationally in the Class of 2017 led her team in minutes played (630) in conference play and started all three post-season victories.

West Coach of the Year: Troye Flannery (Calgary Foothills WFC)

Troye Flannery continued his superb leadership for the two-time conference champions this year and led Calgary Foothills Women's FC to a continuing series of firsts that included hosting the league's National Championship. And for the third straight season, the University of Calgary Head Coach has been named the UWS West Coach of the Year: a first-ever accomplishment in the four-year history of the league. Flannery has been filling up his awards cabinet over the past few years for both club and university, as the reigning UWS Coach of the Year was honored as the Canada West and U SPORTS (the national governing body of university sport in Canada) Coach of the Year last fall. The Girls Academy Director for Foothills Soccer Club has been at the helm of all three campaigns in the ultra-competitive UWS West, compiling an impressive 18-7-4 record while never suffering a losing season.


F Alex Lamontagne (Calgary Foothills WFC)
F Tanya Boychuck (Calgary Foothills WFC)
M Jordan Marada (LA Galaxy OC)
M Yvonne Northover (Calgary Foothills WFC)
M Tara McKeown (Santa Clarita Blue Heat)
M Chelsey Patterson (LA Galaxy OC)
D Grace Stordy (Calgary Foothills WFC)
D Natalie Jacobs (LA Galaxy OC)
D Lauren Petras (Queen City United)
D Yadira Toraya (Santa Clarita Blue Heat)
GK Hillary Beall (LA Galaxy OC)


F Alyssa Thompson (Santa Clarita Blue Heat)
F/M Eliza Bona (Colorado Pride)
M Chloe Castaneda (Santa Clarita Blue Heat)
M Claire Abrey (Queen City United)
D Lauren Sesselmann (Santa Clarita Blue Heat)
D Nicole Molen (LA Galaxy OC)
GK Emily Burns (Calgary Foothills WFC)

Hillary Beall (credit Dirk Fontaine)

Alex Lamontagne (credit Dirk Fontaine)

Tag(s): News  Calgary Foothills  Colorado Pride  LA Galaxy  Santa Clarita Blue Heat  Queen City United