skip navigation

Fall Update: College Awards Season Starts

11/01/2018, 6:00pm EDT
By Admin

In our first recap, over 20 UWS stars nab All-Conference honors

METUCHEN, NJ - United Women's Soccer (UWS) member teams take pride in helping student-athletes reach the next level of their respective soccer careers over the summer months. Recently, awards season has started in the collegiate ranks and current & former UWS stars were recognized for their efforts in their fall competitive seasons. In this first edition of our collegiate awards recap, we highlight over 20 UWS standouts who were honored with All-Conference plaudits. Conferences included in this edition are the ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, Conference-USA and Mid-American Conference. Further recaps will follow in the coming days.

Notable names in this edition include: Florida State University stars Deyna Castellanos & Natalia Kuikka, 2017 UWS Player of the Year and 2017 UWS West Conference Defensive Player of the Year, respectively; C-USA Goalkeeper of the Year and Long Island Rough Riders shot-stopper Kelsey Daugherty; C-USA Freshman of the Year and Indy Premier SC star Hannah Tillett, a 2017 UWS Midwest Conference selection; MAC Offensive Player of the Year and WNY Flash forward Erica Hubert; MAC Freshman of the Year and Michigan Legends midfielder Tatiana Mason; and, All-MAC First Team selection Carissima Cutrona, who is a 2017 & 2018 All-United Women's Soccer First Team honoree for the WNY Flash.

Atlantic Coast Conference First Team
F Deyna Castellanos (Florida State Univ. - Santa Clarita Blue Heat)

Atlantic Coast Conference Second Team
D Natalia Kuikka (Florida State Univ. - Santa Clarita Blue Heat)

Big Ten Conference Second Team
MF Charlotte Williams (Penn State Univ. - Western New York Flash)

Big Ten Conference Third Team
F Mykayla Brown (Indiana Univ. - Indy Premier SC)
MF Natalie Winters (Univ. of Iowa - Detroit Sun FC)
D Madison Pogarch (Rutgers Univ. - Detroit Sun FC)
D Chantelle Swaby (Rutgers Univ. - New England Mutiny)
GK Rachel Egyed (Univ. of Maryland - TSF Academy)

Big Ten Conference Freshman Team
MF Talani Barnett (Ohio State Univ. - New York Surf)

Big 12 Conference Second Team
D/MF Paige Welch (Oklahoma Univ. - FC Austin Elite)

C-USA Goalkeeper of the Year
Conference USA First Team

GK Kelsey Daugherty (UAB - Long Island Rough Riders)

C-USA Freshman of the Year
Conference USA First Team
Conference USA All-Freshman Team

MF Hannah Tillett (Middle Tennessee State Univ. - Indy Premier SC)

Conference USA Second Team
MF Miah Zuazua (Southern Miss. Univ. - North Texas Image)
F Annie Walker (Rice Univ. - Detroit Sun FC)

Conference USA Third Team
MF Amber Hoot (Middle Tennessee State Univ. - Fort Wayne United)

Mid-American Conference Offensive Player of the Year
All-MAC First Team

F Erica Hubert (Bowling Green Univ. - Western New York Flash)

Mid-American Conference Freshman of the Year
All-MAC Second Team
All-MAC Freshman Team

MF Tatiana Mason (Ball State Univ. - Michigan Legends FC)

Mid-American Conference First Team
F Carissima Cutrona (Univ. of Buffalo - Western New York Flash)
MF Alyssa Burke (Western Michigan Univ. - Detroit Sun FC)
D Morgan Abbitt (Bowling Green Univ. - Toledo Villa)

Mid-American Conference Second Team
F Lexi Pelafas (Central Michigan Univ. - Lansing United)

Mid-American Conference Freshman Team
D Tess Ford (Univ. of Buffalo - Western New York Flash)
MF Ashton Cassel (Univ. of Toledo - Detroit Sun FC)

About United Women's Soccer: UWS is a national women's soccer league sanctioned by U.S. Soccer. UWS is a professionally operated league created for teams that meet high minimum standards. The season runs from May until the end of July, culminating in a National Championship match. The UWS player pool is comprised of college players, aspiring & former professionals and international stars. You can follow UWS on social media on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Media can contact the UWS Communications office by e-mail at You can visit the league's official website at Interested team applicants can contact League Commissioner Joe Ferrara, Jr. by e-mail at

Tag(s): News  LI Rough Riders  New England Mutiny  New York Surf  Western NY Flash  Santa Clarita Blue Heat  Detroit Sun  Fort Wayne Gryphons  Indiana Union  Michigan Legends  FC Austin Elite  North Texas Image